NCP unification task force unlikely to meet Jan 14 deadline

Tuesday, January 8th, 2019 | | Politics

Kathmandu, January 8

A task force comprising nine central leaders of the ruling Nepal Communist Party formed to finalise the model for the party’s lower committees and sister organisations, unifying respective organisations of formerly CPN-UML and CPN-Maoist Centre, is unlikely to meet its January 14 deadline.

The task force has been unable to perform the assignment due to busy schedules of its key members, according to a leader.

Of nine members of the task force, three are members of the federal government whereas one is a provincial chief minister.

Home Minister Ram Bahadur Thapa heads the team, which includes Energy Minister Barsha Man Pun, Transportation Minister Raghu Bir Mahaseth, and Province 5 Chief Minister Shankar Pokhrel.

Other members are Bishnu Paudel, Surendra Pandey, Bedu Ram Bhusal, Yogesh Bhattarai and Lekh Raj Bhatta.

Earlier, two chairmen of the party–KP Sharma Oli and Pushpa Kamal Dahal–had directed the panel to submit its report by January 14 so that all committees would be formed by mid-February.