Murder accused among three leaders takes minister’s oath

Thursday, July 26th, 2018 | | Politics

The Province 2 government inducted three state ministers, including a murder suspect, from the Rastriya Janata Party-Nepal (RJP-N) into the Cabinet on Wednesday.

Aviram Sharma, who stands accused of murdering an injured Armed Police Force (APF) head constable, has been appointed as the state minister for Social Development. Suresh Mandal has been inducted as state minister for Industry, Tourism, Forest and Environment, and Dimple Jha state minister for Physical Infrastructure. Chief Minister Mohammad Lal Babu Raut administered the oath of office and secrecy to the newly appointed state ministers.

The latest appointments have given the Province 2 Cabinet a full shape. The coalition government of the Sanghiya Samajbadi Forum-Nepal and the RJP-N has 13 members, including the CM.

The RJP-N presidium meeting held in the Capital on Monday recommended Sharma, Mandal and Jha for the appointment as state ministers. Sharma is one of the suspects involved in lynching of APF head constable Thaman BK at Jaleshwor of Mahottari district during Madhes protest in 2015. He was charge of killing the injured cop while being rushed to Janakpur in an ambulance.

Sharma is on the list of absconding suspect at the Dhanusha District Court.